Bandstocks: Cool site, cool business and a free Patrick Wolf gig

A few weeks ago, I discovered Bandstocks via an article about Patrick Wolf releasing his new album, Battle, by using the site.  The basic premise is this: you invest £10 (per share) in a specific artist’s forthcoming album and when it comes out you get a high quality download of the album and share 30% of the receipts shared amongst all of the other investors.  Bottom line – no ‘record company’ to speak of and a much better deal for fans and artists.  I’d have bought the album anyway so figured that for £10 I’d happily pay in advance for the chance to turn a tiny profit if the album does well.bandstocks_web

Betting or investing?  They’re kinda the same, really, so this was mainly fun for me.  (And it’s FSA regulated so couldn’t be a total scam.)

THEN… yesterday, I got an email inviting me to a private gig that that Patrick would be playing for his investors next week.  How cool is that?  I’m really excited and definitely feel like I’ve had more than my tenners worth already and I’m very excited about this.  If Bandstocks can forge closer relationships between artists and audiences, it’s going to be a great thing.

Here’s Patrick talking about Bandstocks on YouTube:

2 responses to “Bandstocks: Cool site, cool business and a free Patrick Wolf gig

  1. Pingback: BeebCamp gave me a new idea for how the BBC could work « Jason DaPonte’s blog

  2. Pingback: BeebCamp gave me a new idea for how the BBC could work « Jason DaPonte’s blog

Leave a Reply

