Patrick Wolf private gig for Bandstocks investors

Last week, I wrote about how excited I was that I’d been invited to a see a private gig by Patrick Wolf after investing some money in his forthcoming album Battle on Bandstocks.

Little did I know what a treat I was in for.  The gig was last night and held at the 1901 Club in Waterloo, London and was like being in someone’s living room/lounge listening to Patrick give a recital for a tiny crowd.

I won’t gush here about how good the gig was (amaaaaazzzzzzzing) but wanted to post to share some of the videos and pictures I took and because it made me think more about what a good idea Bandstocks is.  No, I’m not being paid by their PR company! 

One of the things that came across last night was that Patrick really likes talking to and creating music for his fans.  The whole time he was incredibly gratious and humble and genuinely thanking his investors for their support.  Not something you normally get in such a heartfelt way when you go to a gig.

Direct relationships between artists and fans can only be a good thing and hopefully the way forward.  Cameras were welcomed and so alot of people were snapping/recording away – just another sign that Patrick is exploring a new relationship between fans and music where he (or they) own it and not a big major record label (which generally prevents either the artist or fan from fully enjoying it so that the company can profit) – and knows that letting fans do this is good free publicity and not stealing.

Anyway, the lighting in the venue was very dim so please forgive the quality of the photos and videos, but here goes.  I hope you enjoy it half as much as I did as it really was a special night.

“Paris” is my favourite of his songs… glad he played it even if I messed up the camera:

Photos on Flickr here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/j-sin

One response to “Patrick Wolf private gig for Bandstocks investors

  1. OMG amazing, thank you so much for uploadin those videos i am going to see him on 12th march, Im so excited!!

    x

Leave a comment